DIY Crib skirt (no sew)

This past weekend, I decided to get over my procrastination and start on one of my DIY projects for the nursery.  Originally, I was going to sew the hems but considering I still need to learn how to sew on a machine, I decided to do the no sew method.  If you google “DIY no sew crib skirt” you will get plenty of hits so I took bits and pieces of couple of website instructions to create my own skirt.

I liked the idea of creating my crib skirt in 3 separate pieces so when we do lower the bed, I can easily “hike up” the skirt to ensure that it’s not dragging on the floor.  So without further ado, here is what I did…

1. You will need to buy your fabric.  My crib is the standard size crib and the typical size is 28″x53″ (give or take 1/2″).  So if you do the math, I would need at least 3.5 yards of fabric.  I didn’t realize how expensive fabric could be!

Tip: And because I didn’t want to spend $20+ for fabric, I decided to be thrifty and go to Goodwill.  Now don’t be a snob about Goodwill.  There are plenty of stuff I donated to Goodwill that was perfectly fine but just donated because I wanted to clear up space.  I also know people who donated clothes they never even wore!  How crazy is that!  Back to my instructions….

I looked at the curtain section as well as the baby blanket section.  And that’s where I found my fabric.  At Goodwill in the baby section.  I think it was a curtain but soon to be made over.  And for $7, I think it was well worth it.

2. Once you have your fabric, you will need to measure the length and width you will need.  Since I was going to use the top of the curtain (where the rod goes through), I measured the length from the bottom of that stitch for the length of my crib skirt (which came up to about 21″).

Tip: For the side portions of my crib skirt, I thought an additional 2″ would be enough for the hemming and to attach it to the crib board.  It was but just barely.  If I had to do it over, I would give a 5″ allowance just to make sure I have enough fabric to stay on the board.  Trust me.

3.  Hem it.  I used to top portion of the curtain (where the rod goes through) as the top of my crib skirt so no hemming there.  Lucky me, the fabric was just wide enough that I could cut the fabric once (which will be the bottom of the crib skirt) and hem the big piece in one area.

3a. You want to first iron a tiny bit over to make a clean hem (see pictures below).  I just folded the fabric over a tiny bit then moved the iron over.  Left the iron in place and rolled a tiny bit of fabric over.  Iron that piece over and left it.  And keep going.  I was afraid it would get burnt (since it was on wool, the highest heat) but it didn’t so I just kept doing it until the entire edge was ironed.

3b. So instead of sewing, you can purchase stitch witchery in a fabric aisle like Walmart.  Just like in step 2a you are going to place the stitch witchery in place and fold over your clean hem to cover the stitch witchery.  The directions state that you place a damp cloth over your fabric and iron for 10 seconds; flip your fabric over and repeat.  So in the picture below, you can see that I’m ironing my stitch witchery and it looks like a real hem.

Jpeg

Jpeg

4. Once you finish your hem on a all the sides, there are various ways to attach it to your crib.  Some people have used thumb tacks, Velcro, tied it to the crib coils, or even binder clips.  I thought the thumb tacks were a great idea since my crib is a flat board rather than the metal squares.  Unbeknownst to me, my crib board is made of concrete.  Just kidding…. but seriously, when I tried to hammer the thumb tacks to it, it would bend.  Then my honey came up with the great idea of using the adhesive spray.  Genius!

So I just sprayed the spray adhesive to my crib board, waited couple minutes, then smoothed my fabric onto it.

Jpeg

Jpeg

5.  Do that to your other two or three sides and voila!  You’re done!  Best thing is that when you move the crib mattress down, all you have to do is move the crib skirt up further onto the board.  How awesome is that!

(I purposely didn’t add the step in how to create the crib pleat because I sewed that by hand but if you’re curious, just let me know in the comment and I can tell you.)

Leave a Reply

