Burst of exercise (HIIT) at work

tabata1TGIF!  To be completely frank about my fitness regime, it has been pretty non-existent.  I could blame it on the pregnancy but it’s not true.  I’m just plain lazy and full of excuses.  😱  Initially, I thought I would do a gym workout in the mornings to get my butt in shape (literally) but I always came up with excuses… “I didn’t sleep very well”, “I’m tired”, I can “cuddle” with my honey, etc… and let’s not mention after work.

So then I thought, “Why not just increases my chances of working out by “planning” to work out in the morning, during lunch with my co-workers, and after work with my honey.  How did that work out?  I worked out even less than just in the mornings.  Banging head on the Wall animated emoticon

So I had a light bulb moment.  Why not work out in my office!?  Now this may not work for some people but since I have my own office, I think this will work for me.  Thumbs Up emoticon (Hand gesture emoticons)

I read that short burst of HIIT (high intensity interval training) of 15 minutes or less can do so much for you.  I don’t want to dedicate 15 minutes of HIIT because 1. I don’t want to be drenched in sweat 2. It increases the chances of someone walking in my office.  So I decided that I will do a short 5 minute HIIT workout about once an hour.

Disclaimer: I am not a nutritionist, doctor, or any type of fitness expert.  I’m just letting you know my thoughts and ideas on what might work based on my 12 years of working out.

Of course, there wasn’t a list of HIIT exercises that I liked so I created a List of HIIT exercises.  When you open up the attachment, there are 3 tabs:

  1. Gives you the beginner, intermediate, advanced, and expert versions of the exercises.  I’m assuming you know how to do the exercises or you can just search it on the internet.
  2. The list of individual exercises with a random number generator so each time you want a new “workout”, you just press F9 and it will give you a new exercise.
  3. This list is same as #2 except I’ve taken out some exercises for my prenatal use.  That isn’t to say a pregnant woman can’t do sheet #2.  I just prefer not to do too much jumping/impact.

Just remember that in order to make it a HIIT workout, you should do intervals of exercise and rest.  I’m starting with 45 seconds of exercise and 15 seconds of rest.  If you need to increase the intensity, try 50 sec/10 sec.  Or if you need to decrease the intensity, try 30 sec/30 sec.  For exercises that takes longer for each rep, I will attempt to do 25 reps before I take 15 seconds of rest.  So my “burst workout” will incorporate cardio exercise, upper body, lower body, core, and cardio exercise.  I figure this will give me about 5 minutes of HIIT workout.  Short enough that I can get it done several times a day and frequent enough that it will add up.  5 minutes of 5 times a day = 25 minutes.  😜

This isn’t to say that I’m not going to do any type of workouts outside of my office.  I’m still going to attempt to go to the gym or do a full workout at home every weekday.

BTW, what prompted me to try working out this way?  The fact that I gained 4 pounds in one week when I’m supposed to only gain 1 pound.  😳  So I think by trying to eat healthier and cutting out refined carbs and getting more exercise in, I’m hoping to have a healthier weight gain during my pregnancy.  Because the last thing I want is to push out a 10 pound baby rather than a 7.5 pound baby.

If you have any questions on how to perform the workout or have suggestions on exercises I should add, just let me know!  Thanks everyone!

Leave a Reply

